OF ONLINE JOBS AND WANTING QUICK MONEY: UPWORK EDITION

Photo from RomeLawRome on Pinterest

One thing these past few days have taught me is to exclaim like Tyla. (I gave up on the dancing and mesmerizing twerking immediately I started learning😂). Be that as it may, let me get out my first Yoh because the week I am having is going to drive me to insomnia.

I woke up on Tuesday morning and decided that I have to be the one to break the curse of perpetual brokeness in my family. I only had to scratch my head for a minute to remember that I had joined Upwork some time in 2020 but I had quickly given up because I had yet to experience a critical level of being broke.

I quickly logged in and to my surprise, I found that Upwork had been depositing free Connects to my account every month and they had accumulated to the grand sum of 105. I was so happy and in my state of glee, I started behaving like a blind lumberjack and started felling my great trees of Connects by applying to all jobs that seemed doable without any strategy whatsoever.

By Thursday, it was clear that I was not going to get any jobs and a tiny sensible part of my brain that my system unsurprisingly keeps safely tucked away at the back of my head, told me that I should actually have a strategy. Fortunately, I saw the light and I hurriedly went to the YouTube University where I got some useful insight.

After burning the midnight oil on Friday night diligently noting down all the useful tips and tricks, I quickly realized that because of my poor planning, I had actually wasted my second chance at Upwork.

The first challenge that I was facing was that I had no laptop so there was no way I could bring my profile information to 100% because including the projects segment requires a desktop or tablet. The desktop was required also to optimize job search through Zapier which is just terribly inconvenient when done by phone.

Two, I had wasted my Connects and I only had 30 remaining which did not do much for me as I kept refreshing hoping that I would come across a job requiring less Connects so that I may apply to at least two or three but that was futile.

Nevertheless, I heard from someone wise that third time is the charm so let me relax my third world self till I get 45 dollars to buy myself a new lifeline.

Regards

Published by LiteralCate

Someone with words that need an outlet.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started