POEM

HELPLESSNESS

In this feeling of helplessness,


I scream to my soul and join that girl sitting alone in the dark crevices therein


The all time fear that I have carried with me ever since I was a child drips slowly and flows through the crevices


“Will I ever amount to anything?” All the voices in my head scream,


As I sink deeper, deeper to the floor of my soul


Where my heart bleeds and my brain wants to come to a standstill


” What is a life filled with dread?” They cry out


That I have to live a life where good days never feel good and bad days always feel bad


That I have to anticipate the bad moments never really knowing the pleasure of living


Is a future my heart cannot comprehend
So I sink deeper still,


Deeper till I drown in that river that flows through the crevices


And the nuance is not lost on me


That I take my last breath in my own river of helplessness

Published by LiteralCate

Someone with words that need an outlet.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started